Instagram will now send content removed from user profiles to a ‘Recently Deleted’ folder where it can be reviewed and restored.
Instagram added the ‘Recently Deleted’ folder that gives users the opportunity to review the deleted content before removing it permanently.
Now, when the user removes the content from their account, it is immediately sent to the newly removed.
From there content can be permanently deleted. Or, if the user changes their mind and wants to restore content on their profile, they can recover it from the Recently removed folder.
The folder will include content like:
- Photos and videos from your Profile
- Photos and videos from your Instagram story
- Instagram stories from highlights and your story archive
- Direct Messages
Everything sent to the Recently Deleted folder will be automatically removed after 30 days, except for stories which will stay in the folder for up to 24 hours from when they were published.
If at any point within those 30 days users wish to review what they deleted they can access the folder by going to Settings > Account > Recently Deleted.
Make sure your Instagram app is updated to the latest version before relying on the Recently Deleted folder to save your content.
Another Use Case For ‘Recently Deleted’
This folder is sure to be helpful when users change their mind about deleting content, but Instagram points out another use for it.
Instagram notes how newly removed folders can protect user content if their account is hacked.
Sometimes hackers will delete content, leave the user without a way to get it back if it is not stored on their cellphone.
In addition to introducing a newly removed folder, Instagram introduced protection against content that removes permanently.
Users will be asked to prove that they are account owners before removing or restoring content from the newly removed folder.
Instagram Archive vs Recently Deleted
Instagram said the newly removed folder was a feature that was regularly requested by the user.
It is interesting because the Instagram application always has something similar in the form of an account archive.
Previously, if the user wants to delete the content from their profile but does not delete it forever, they can archive it.
Archived content can be recovered and/or permanently deleted anytime. From my understanding, there is no limit on how many content can be archived by one account, there is also no limit on how long the content can be archived.
User theory can archive any content they want to delete and have the option to recover it for days, months, or even years later. When content is archived, it cannot be accessed by anyone other than the users who publish it.
In many ways, Instagram archives are better than the folder that has just been removed when it comes to storing user content. That is, if the user remembers to manually archive their content.
An advantage of Recently Deleted is it’s automatic. There’s no need to remember to use it because it’s done for you. If you accidentally delete a piece of content instead of restoring it, it can be saved.
The Instagram archive isn’t going anywhere though, which means it can be used as a backup option. If you find the 30 days provided by the Recently Deleted folder isn’t enough, you can always send content to the archive instead.